Victim's Rights Brochures/Forms

The members of the Maryland State Board of Victim Services recognize that crime victims suffer personal loss, may experience stress, fear, and confusion in the aftermath of a crime, and often are in need of information and services to aid their recovery.

The Board has developed various brochures and forms in order for crime victims to be aware of their rights as a crime victim in the State of Maryland and to guide them through the complex criminal justice process. The brochures are available for download and may be printed for distribution and usage by crime victims and/or criminal justice agents.

To order brochures, please send an email to the Victims of Crime Policy, Planning & Services Unit.

Crime Victims and Witnesses: Your Rights and Services

Maryland law (Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-104(b)) entitles a crime to receive a copy of this brochure on first contact with law enforcement; it is designed to inform them of their rights and of the services available to assist them in the aftermath of crime. It outlines the steps a case goes through in the criminal justice process and explains the responsibilities of the criminal justice system to crime victims and witnesses.

Crime Victims and Witnesses: Your Rights and Services

Victimas y Testigos de Delitos: Sus derechos y servicios disponibles

Your Rights as a Victim in the Criminal and Juvenile Justice Process

Once criminal charges are filed against a defendant and the case has been forwarded to the State’s Attorney’s Office, crime victims have the right to receive particular information about the prosecution of the criminal case. Maryland law (Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-104(c) (1)) requires the State’s Attorney’s Office to provide this brochure to certain crime victims within 10 days of the filing of formal charges.

Your Rights as a Victim in the Criminal and Juvenile Justice Process

Sus Derechos como Víctima en el Proceso de Justicia Penal y Juvenil

Crime Victim Notification Request and Demand for Rights Form

Crime victims are required to notify criminal justice agencies in writing if they want to be notified of hearings and events related to their case. The State’s Attorney’s Office is required by law (to deliver the Crime Victim Notification Request and Demand for Rights Form to specific crime victims within 10 days of the filing of formal charges.

Victims are urged to complete the form and return it to the State’s Attorney’s Office immediately to ensure their rights are upheld. (Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-104(c) (1))

A sample of the Crime Victim Notification Request and Demand for Rights Form is set out below. If you or someone you know is the victim of a crime and want to be kept informed of the case contact the State’s Attorney’s Office for more information.

Crime Victim Notification Request and Demand for Rights Form

Office of the Governor