Law Enforcement's Statutory Responsibilities to Crime Victims

Law Enforcement Training Materials

Navigating Maryland’s Crime Victims Rights Highway

The Maryland Victims’ Statutory Rights Database is a web based database that includes a complete listing of Maryland crime victims’ statutory rights, as contained in the Constitution of Maryland, Declaration of Rights, Maryland Annotated Code, Criminal Procedure Article, Health General Article, Family Law Article, Criminal Law Article, Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article, Correctional Services Article and the Maryland Rules. Each citation has been categorized to assist the reader in understanding the statute, to identify the specific right contained in the citation and to associate the agent/agency responsible for fulfilling the statutory mandate.

The Roles and Responsibilities of Criminal Justice Professionals

These documents provide a listing of Maryland criminal justice agencies' statutory obligations to crime victims as defined under Maryland law.

These documents are solely intended to compile Maryland's victims' rights laws in one user-friendly place. GOCCP and MSBVS in now way are providing legal advice to readers. If a question regarding interpretation of the statutory language arises, you should consult your agency's attorney.

Please note: Statute text current as of October 1, 2007.

For updated statute text, please click here.

Additional Resources

A comprehensive, user-friendly, on-line database of victims’ rights statutes developed and maitained by the National Center for Victims of Crime.

Maryland Code Online (Michie/LexisNexis)

Designated SAFE Facilities

In the case of sexual assault, Maryland Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-924(b) requires law enforcement officers to offer transportation to the nearest SAFE designated facility. SAFE stands for Sexual Assault Forensic Evaluation. At a SAFE designated facility a victim can get medical treatment and evidence can be expertly collected.

For a searchable listing of the designated facilities within the State of Maryland, please click here.

Domestic Violence Statutory Mandates & Programs

Statutory Mandate

In the case of a domestic violence situation law enforcement officers must give written notice of available services to victims of domestic violence. Family Law Article 4-503(a)(1) A law enforcement officer who responds to a request for help under § 4-502 of this Part I of this subtitle shall give the victim a written notice that includes the telephone number of a local domestic violence program that receives funding from the Governor's Office of Crime Control and Prevention. For a listing of established domestic violence service providers, please visit

Participating Programs

Click on county to find participating programs.

Garret County Allegany County Washington County Frederick County Carroll County Baltimore County Harford County Cecil County Kent County Queen Annes County Caroline County Talbot County Dorchester County Wicomico County Worcester County Somerset County Baltimore City Howard County Montgomery County Anne Arundel County Prince George's County Charles County Calvert County St. Mary's County Image map of Maryland broken down into counties
Garret County
The Dove Center
Allegany County
Family Crisis Resource Center
Washington County
CASA (Citizens Assisting and Sheltering the Abused)
Frederick County
Heartly House
Carroll County
Family and Children's Services of Central MD
Baltimore County
Family and Children's Services of Central MD

Family Crisis Center of Baltimore County, Inc

TurnAround, Inc.
Harford County
Sexual Assault / Spouse Abuse Resource Center
Cecil County
Cecil County Domestic Violence / Rape Crisis Center
Wicomico County
Life Crisis Center
Dorchester County
Mid-Shore Council on Family Violence
Talbot County
Mid-Shore Council on Family Violence
Queen Anne's County
Mid-Shore Council on Family Violence
Kent County
Mid-Shore Council on Family Violence
Montgomery County
Abused Persons Program
Howard County
Domestic Violence Center
Anne Arundel County
YWCA Domestic Violence Services
Worcester County
Life Crisis Center
Somerset County
Life Crisis Center
Prince George's County
Family Crisis Center, Inc.

House of Ruth
Calvert County
Crisis Intervention Center
Charles County
Center for Abused Persons
St. Mary's County
Southern Maryland Center for Family Advocacy (Legal Services)
Walden / Sierra, Inc.
Baltimore City
House of Ruth MD

TurnAround, Inc.
Caroline County
Mid-Shore Council on Family Violence

Child Abuse Statutory Mandates & Resources

Statutory Mandate

In the case of a suspected child physicial or sexual abuse, Maryland Family Law Article, §§ 5-701, 5-706 requires that within 24 hours of receiving a report of suspected abuse, the appropriate law enforcement agency must see the child, decide on the safety of the child and other children living in the household and requires that, to the extent possible, an investigation must be completed within 10 days after receipt of the first notice of suspected abuse. In the case of suspected mental abuse of a child the appropriate law enforcement agency must see the child within 5 days of receiving the report.


Child Advocacy Centers in Maryland

Additional Mandates

Identity Theft

In the case of a suspected identity theft, Maryland Criminal Law, § 8-304 requires law enforcement officers take a report of the alleged identity fraud or theft and provide a copy of the report to the victim regardless of where the alleged victim lives or where the crime occurred.

Office of the Governor