The Maryland Victims’ Statutory Rights Database is a web based database that includes a complete listing of Maryland crime victims’ statutory rights, as contained in the Constitution of Maryland, Declaration of Rights, Maryland Annotated Code, Criminal Procedure Article, Health General Article, Family Law Article, Criminal Law Article, Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article, Correctional Services Article and the Maryland Rules. Each citation has been categorized to assist the reader in understanding the statute, to identify the specific right contained in the citation and to associate the agent/agency responsible for fulfilling the statutory mandate.
These documents provide a listing of Maryland criminal justice agencies' statutory obligations to crime victims as defined under Maryland law.
These documents are solely intended to compile Maryland's victims' rights laws in one user-friendly place. GOCCP and MSBVS in now way are providing legal advice to readers. If a question regarding interpretation of the statutory language arises, you should consult your agency's attorney.
Please note: Statute text current as of October 1, 2007.
A comprehensive, user-friendly, on-line database of victims’ rights statutes developed and maitained by the National Center for Victims of Crime.
Maryland Code Online (Michie/LexisNexis)
In the case of sexual assault, Maryland Criminal Procedure Article, § 11-924(b) requires law enforcement officers to offer transportation to the nearest SAFE designated facility. SAFE stands for Sexual Assault Forensic Evaluation. At a SAFE designated facility a victim can get medical treatment and evidence can be expertly collected.
In the case of a domestic violence situation law enforcement officers must give written notice of available services to victims of domestic violence. Family Law Article 4-503(a)(1) A law enforcement officer who responds to a request for help under § 4-502 of this Part I of this subtitle shall give the victim a written notice that includes the telephone number of a local domestic violence program that receives funding from the Governor's Office of Crime Control and Prevention. For a listing of established domestic violence service providers, please visit http://mnadv.org/dv_providers.html.
In the case of a suspected child physicial or sexual abuse, Maryland Family Law Article, §§ 5-701, 5-706 requires that within 24 hours of receiving a report of suspected abuse, the appropriate law enforcement agency must see the child, decide on the safety of the child and other children living in the household and requires that, to the extent possible, an investigation must be completed within 10 days after receipt of the first notice of suspected abuse. In the case of suspected mental abuse of a child the appropriate law enforcement agency must see the child within 5 days of receiving the report.
In the case of a suspected identity theft, Maryland Criminal Law, § 8-304 requires law enforcement officers take a report of the alleged identity fraud or theft and provide a copy of the report to the victim regardless of where the alleged victim lives or where the crime occurred.