Governor's Family Violence Council

Mission Statement

The mission of the Governor’s Family Violence Council is to provide the Governor with timely and accurate information on family violence with recommendations that will reduce and eliminate abusive behaviors.

Council Membership

The Governor’s Family Violence Council consists of twenty-eight members. Sixteen of the Council seats are designated for representatives from various State agencies. Twelve members with interest and expertise in issues related to domestic violence are appointed by the Governor. These members may include representatives of service providers, the legal, advocacy, and faith communities, and victims and survivors of domestic or family violence. Members appointed by the Governor serve three year terms. All other members serve as long as they hold the office or designation stipulated. For more information, please contact Nakita Long, Governor’s Family Violence Council Coordinator at NLong@goccp.state.md.us.

VINE Protective Order (VPO)

“Keeping Victims Informed”

The time immediately after a protective order has been served can be a particularly dangerous time for the petitioning victim. Far too often, the respondent reacts violently when served, putting the petitioner in further danger. Knowing when the order has been served allows the petitioner to seek safety or call the police if the respondent violates the terms of the order.

What is VPO?

VPO is an innovative service that automatically notifies the petitioner and victim advocates when a protective order has been served on the respondent and keeps them informed throughout the order process.

How to Use VPO

If the protective order has been issued, you can register to receive notification via phone or email. Call 1-877-846-3420 or visit www.registervpo.com to access protective order information. For more information on VPO registration, please access the VINE Protective Order Quick Reference Guide.

VPO Documents

To order VPO brochures, please email NLong@goccp.state.md.us.

Abuser Intervention Program Certification (AIP)

The Governor's Family Violence Council (FVC) Abuser Intervention Program (AIP) Certification Process is intended to certify AIPs for inclusion in the Administrative Office of the Courts Bench Book for Maryland Judges. This manual is used by judges to refer abuser's to appropriate intervention programs.

SAVE THE DATE. June 4, 5, and 6, 2014:
Working With Perpetrators of Intimate Partner Violence

Governor’s Domestic Violence Roundtable Discussion

Governor Martin O’Malley and Lt. Governor Anthony G. Brown highlighted the importance of Domestic Violence Awareness month on October 16, 2013 with a roundtable to discuss domestic violence in Maryland. The Roundtable panel included 14 law enforcement, non-profit, government, and community partners to discuss the importance of working collaboratively to prevent domestic violence and reach out to help its victims.

In 2007, the O’Malley-Brown Administration set a goal of driving down violent crimes committed against women and children by 25 percent by the end of 2012. The efforts of the Administration surpassed this goal. Building on these successes, the Administration has set a new strategic goal: Reduce violent crimes committed against women and children by an additional 25 percent by the end of 2018.

The discussion at the Roundtable focused on ways to continue moving forward. The following highlights the innovative initiatives that were recommended during the discussion.

  • Offer domestic violence screening in all community health care centers;
  • increase usage for Vine Protective Orders (VPO); and
  • use the Lethality Assessment Project (LAP) to hold offenders accountable, specifically by incorporating LAP into the courts and expanding the Baltimore Police Department’s warrant initiative that matches high-risk LAP offenders with open warrants statewide.

Legislation

The Legislative Subcommittee is essential in assisting in the drafting process of bills presented for legislation. Bills must obtain a majority vote within the FVC before being presented for legislation.

Maryland’s New Domestic Violence Laws effective October 1, 2014

  • SB 333/HB307 – Peace and Protective Orders – Burden of Proof
  • SB 334/HB 309 – Family Law – Domestic Violence – Permanent Final Protective Orders
  • SB 337/HB 306 – Crimes – Committing a Crime of Violence in the Presence of Minor – Penalties
  • SB 369 – Peace and Protective Order – Penalties – Second or Subsequent Offenses
  • SB 434 – Peace Orders and Protective Orders – Extensions
  • HB 397 – Peace Orders and Protective Orders – Consent Orders Shielding

Maryland’s New Domestic Violence Laws effective October 1, 2009

Office of the Governor